Hard Goodbyes

It’s strange that in the beginning when starting my position here, we were all strangers. Well, I was whereas the rest of you were already acquainted with each other. Therefore, from both perspectives you and I were.

Even though I may project a slight prickliness (perhaps due to my sharp jawlines and non-smiling expression), I am a people pleaser deep down. What I mean is that, I want people to like me. I don’t pretend to be someone I’m not, but I do try to find out how they are and become adjustable to how they interact, their humour and become approachable myself.

In the process, I definitely would have annoyed people with my chattiness, clumsiness, slowness and more. Added to the fact that our team consist of 90% women (read: hormones, PMS), there would have been a few issues here and there. But we’re a team of cheerful happy people.

Why are goodbyes hard? I think it’s not because we’re saying goodbye to the person. It’s because we’re saying goodbye to the routine we have between each other, seeing their faces on a daily basis, the relationship that was built. Don’t get me wrong, we’ll stay in touch of course, but it will still be different with absence.

I tried to let out all I wanted to say, but I was more afraid of bawling and crying my eyes out. Pride and ego I guess, and not wanting to get my eyes puffy. So here goes…

Thank you…
for the life lessons;
for the laughter and joy;
for the tears and frustation;
for the opportunities;
for the chance to get to know you.

I’m sorry…
for any harsh words;
for any disagreeableness;
for any PMS outbreaks;
for moodiness and complaints;
for any wrongs that I have done.

Good luck…
for your future adventures;
for your dreams;
for your ambitions.

They say it’s not a goodbye, but a see you later πŸ™‚

augi8492

Leave a Reply

